Tattoed Dentist's or Nurses

10 years 3 months ago #5939 by Alex.
Thank you all for answering to my topic. I'm asking cuz* i am a trainee Dental Nurse and i would love to make some mark's on my skin,In my opinion i dont see nothing unprofessional in what i want to do(angel wing on my forearm on the visible and "hairy"side, and some letters on the other side) its something personal and which in a way it's expressing my attitude and sensible,but in the same time I wanna go forward with my carrier and why not a hygenist or dentist. I am open that probably i will be refused to my future jobs.It's just something that i wanna know and prepare myself mental for this:).It's not a problem i was refused to job's cuz I'm not "english", so a tattoo will make me more happier and less wanted...It's a subject which soon will have a "end".Thank you all.

PS: It's there any magazines that you can subscribe to what's new in dental or even for patients ? free(more likely) or cheap?

Many Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 years 3 months ago #5933 by whitelock
The policies at both practices I've work at are that they must be covered. It's a shame that in this day and age tattoo's and piercings are still seen as "Unprofessional" I have 9 tattoo's, a nose piercing, a septum piercing (which I flip up for work), red and black hair, part of it shaved and many different sized piercings in my ears.....I am also a very kind, punctual, hard working, polite etc etc person....People ought to be more open minded now days.... :(
The following user(s) said Thank You: Jude, Alex.

10 years 3 months ago #5932 by Jude
I'm a senior dental nurse and currently have 4 tattoo's they can all be hidden away as not everyone likes them

If I'm getting a new one I do plan it so it can be hidden by my tunic

Most practice policies ask for them to be covered up or inoffensive

:)
The following user(s) said Thank You: Alex.

10 years 3 months ago #5922 by janet123
Hi there,