Leave for training courses

13 years 10 months ago #541 by Janus
I thought I posted a reply to this ages ago, but appears not.

The girls were happy with the compromise we came too which is to pay them half pay for the day that they're off, and to include this in any repayments (along with course fees etc.) if they leave our employment during the next two years.

Thank you all for your helpful suggestions too.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

13 years 11 months ago #302 by Vms118
I'd be interested to know how this panned out in the end Janus? an interesting topic.

Victorus Aut Mortis.

13 years 11 months ago #242 by mela82
in theory, there is no law that says an employer need pay for a course/training or even study leave it all depends on who u work for and if they are decent employers.
when i first studied the national cert i attended once a month, my course was paid for (not my travel) and the 1 day a month i studied, i had the option of using holiday time or no pay.
I thought it was unfair to use my holiday time so i just used any time i accrued over time and if i hadn't then i didnt get paid.
I looked at this as being a short term thing and i would benefit in the long term! With regards to other members of staff who have qualified, you can always suggest a certain amount of 'paid study days' and look at cpd courses so that u can fufill your cpd and still be paid that way everyone would be equal.

After nearly 6 years as a nurse, i have actually learnt to pay for my courses, not ask for study leave but take unpaid days. I know money is an issue but this way i have done my own thing out of my own pocket and i am not beholdent to anyone!
I know this is not the best advice but i have found some practices 'polotics' really biased and this way i owe nothing to anyone except myself. :-)

13 years 11 months ago #234 by Vms118