× Welcome to the Dental Nurse Network forum!

We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Late Registering Help

10 years 2 weeks ago - 10 years 2 weeks ago #6118 by kodon
Hello :)

Im looking for a bit of help with registration.

Ive been nursing since 2011 and qualfied in March 2013 after the 2 year college course here in Scotland... and this is where my problem starts.

I loved it up untill June 2013 when my boss got sick and the whole practice turned upside down, the dentists got stressed and treated the nurses like slaves.. so i left and went to another practice ( still not registered as my previous boss told me to wait untill my paper certificates had come in.. which they hadnt yet) so anyway,

i worked in this new practice and i LOVED my job again the dentist was amazing we had a great laugh and i actually loved going to work and seeing our patients everyday.. until August 2013 when he left.. and the boss of the practice started picking on me ( he wanted me gone as i was now a spare nurse and he was paying me £8 an hour to help out with the other dentists nurses that couldnt cope) so i left as i felt bullied/undervaluded and everyday i got greif for trying to do my job

I work in accounts now.. as i type this im looking for dental nurse jobs again in the hope i land a good practice again.

My only problem is im not registered. i got my papers in from SQA in September 2013 ( Stating i got my qualfication MARCH 2013)and i just never bothered to register cause i wasnt working and didnt want to work in practice anymore.. but i feel ive wasted 3 years if i dont go back and give it another shot as i once loved it and hope to do so again.

How does registration work if you have taken time away from dentistry? Can i just apply and there will be no problems because im qualified? is there a time limit from qualifying to registering?