Going to work after long maternity leave?

11 years 5 months ago #2964 by emziewoo
hey, i was wondering if this was the same for any of you, when you got pregnant and had to have maternity leave did your wages get cut in half because i would love to start a family however i've been told by the girls at my practice that the employers half your wages while your on maternity leave! they told me this is what happens because it happened to a old nurse who used to wok there.
it also terrifies me that if i do start a family that once i come back from maternity leave that i wouldn't have my permanent nurse position working with an experienced dentist due to someone covering over my maternity leave did any of these concerns ever come to mind with yourselves. x

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

11 years 7 months ago #2547 by Griffiths
Hi,

I was an agency nurse for 9 months after I qualified. Its flexible, you can work whatever days you like, I did part time and some weeks I would work wed and thurs, the following week maybe monday and thursday and if I needed a bit of extra money then some weeks I could work 3 or 4 days. Rates of pay are usually higher and you get to work in lots of different practices and meet loads of people.

Or you could go freelance and work for yourself.

x

11 years 8 months ago #2432 by starlight17.02
oh, you have so much experience!!! why don't you try doing a practice management course online??? I would if I could afford it!! :) and yes, childcare is so expensive!! maybe you should join a proper agency, apparently they do offer great pay and you work hours that you want! :) xxxxx

P Hylton

11 years 8 months ago #2431 by starlight17.02