× Welcome to the Dental Nurse Network forum!

We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Student Dental Nurse Mentor

10 years 1 week ago #6145 by Flora
Thanks for all of your replies, they are all very helpful. I will have a look in to doing the witness training programme. I have to go with her on her first day anyway so I am sure they will give me some pointers too!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 years 1 week ago #6144 by amyjade26
Hi :) I am also a trainee DN due to start my course in May, and basically the qualified nurse just ensures that all the things I do are correct. The college come out to the practice every few weeks and observe my practical work to put a tick on the course outcome side of things, I think you would just be the support in practice, like mine.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Flora

10 years 2 weeks ago #6124 by RachelHC
Hi
If it's the NEBDN national diploma she is working towards then she will need to complete a Record of experience (ROE). This comprises of personal experience reflection sheets (PERS). Which are reflective accounts of all aspects of a dental nurse role. As her mentor you will need to sign off her PERS. But you will need to complete the NEBDN Witness training programme first. This is free and is done online. Once you've completed this you will get a certificate (counts as CPD for you!). And you will be added to the approved witness register. Only people on this register can sign PERS.

Hope that helps :)

10 years 2 weeks ago #6122 by Ekw
Hi there

We have several mentors in my work, every trainee is assigned to one. In the early days before classes start they show them around the department and show them instruments what they are for and how to setup for certain treatments, they go over hand hygiene and show them how to do this and surgical scrubs.
Throughout their training they:

Go over mixing (show one, do one, teach one)
Setting up