× Welcome to the Dental Nurse Network forum!

We welcome all new members and hope to see you around a lot!

Male dental nurse !!

10 years 11 months ago #5475 by Markwyb
Hi there.

I've been a Male Dental Nurse for nine years now. we are a rare breed !! but as others have mentioned its on the rise. I did my training in a Dental Hospital in London and there was three other lads on my course and four qualified who worked there.

If your on Facebook I believe there is still a group for Male Dental Nurses! set up by a friend of mine.

Good luck with your training buddy.

Mark.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

10 years 11 months ago #5448 by dawnybee
Hello,
wishing you good luck in your career! I personally don't know of any male Dental Nurses but as the previous comments say it is a varied and rewarding career. There has been an of article written in the Vital magazine highlighting the role of the Male Dental Nurse.
I have been a (female) Dental Nurse for years now and i love my job! :)

10 years 11 months ago #5442 by Jellybean
Hello!

We don't have any male nurses where I work but my previous practice hired a male after a left.

And when I took my exams there were two males that sat the written exam..

There are definatley a lot more female nurses but don't let that put you off, I'd love to have a guy work here!

10 years 11 months ago #5438 by HRussell
Hello,

When was training there was a lad on my course, he was doing nursing so he could go on to be a technician.
Over the years I have met quite a few male nurses plus there happens to be one at the practice I am registered at so don't don't worry you certainly are not the one out there, if anything the number of male nurses is on the rise.

I wish you lots of luck and don't be afraid to ask us all for advice :)

10 years 11 months ago #5434 by adam.manhertz